Narendra Modi too oath as Prime Minister of the country for the second time, along with his Council of Ministers. Among the ministers, six women took oath in the new PM Modi-led government, two less than in 2014. Defence minister in the previous Modi government, Nirmala Sitharaman is one of the six women who have been sworn-in as part of the new government.

Apart from her, Smriti Irani, Bathinda MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal from SAD, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Renuka Singh, amd Debashree Chaudhury also inducted in the new Modi government. There is only one woman who is a first-timer in a list of nine first-time cabinet ministers. Here’s a list of women MPs who will be seen in new Modi government: 

Smriti Irani: TV actor-turned-politician, Smriti Irani fought a battle against Congress president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi. When first sworn-in in 2014 in Modi government, Smriti became the youngest cabinet minister and was assigned high-profile HRD ministry. Irani then served as a Minister for Information and Broadcasting (I&B), has now been given the charge of the Ministry of Women and Child Development, earlier held by Maneka Gandhi.

Nirmala Sitharaman: A Rajya Sabha member and second women hold a key ministry after former PM Indira Gandhi, Nirmala Sitharaman is one of the most prolific women in Modi government. Earlier, Sitharaman was handed defence ministry in 2017 after late Manohar Parrikar became CM of Goa. And now, Sitharaman has been given the portfolio of Finance Ministry. Interestingly, Sitharaman is the first woman Finance Minister after late Indira Gandhi, who held the finance portfolio when she was the prime minister in 1970-71

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti: Sadhvi has become MoS in the Ministry of Rural Development. In the previous government, she held the portfolio of Minister of State for Food Processing Industries. Sadhvi is strong supporter of promoting afforestation, social and cultural values, uplifting poor children and helping women from financially weak backgrounds.

Renuka Singh: Renuka Singh was sworn-in as MoS in Modi government. She was a former minister in the Raman Singh government. Singh is awarded Ministry of Tribal Affairs in new Modi government.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Bathinda MP, is another woman who has managed to secure a ministerial berth for the second time in Modi government. In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, Badal manage to defeat Congress MP Amrinder Singh Raja by a thin margin of 21,772 votes. In the new Modi government, Badal has been given Food Processing Industries ministry.

Debashree Chowdhury: Deboshree Chowdhury is the first timer in the new Modi government. A BJP leader, Chowdhury is from West Bengal, where the saffron party managed to put a great fight to Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress. Deboshree took oath as Mos and is given Ministry of Women and Child Development.