BJP and MVA in Keen Contest 
Ganesh Naik, the political supremo in Navi Mumbai could just manage to scrape the BJP past the Maha Vikas Aghadi of the Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP by half a dozen seats, as the situation stands today. 

He did it for the Shiv Sena in the first general elections of NMMC in 1995, for the NCP in the following general elections in 2000, 2005, 2010 and 2015 and is now all set to work the victory streak for the BJP in the April 2020 general civic polls. 


Assuming that all the party leaders will stick to their respective parties till the polls, the MVA will contest as a collective front and Ganesh Naik and Manda Mhatre will work solely in the interests of the BJP, the odds appear to be in favor of the BJP in 58-60 wards, though Ganesh Naik is learnt to have instilled confidence in his party workers by assuring a win for the BJP in 80 plus wards. 

The Congress chief in the city, Anil Kaushik has expressed confidence that the MVA will bag 74 plus wards, when they could actually lead only in 51-53 wards. 

The biggest gainer will be the BJP that could go from 6 wards in 2015 to 59 in 2020, followed by the SS from 38 in 2015 to 41 in 2020. The biggest loser will be the NCP that could be down to just 4 wards in 2020 from the 52 plus 4 affiliated independent wards in 2015. The Congress too could go down from 10 wards in 2015 to 7 in 2020.

Overall the SS will gain and end up as the senior partner in the MVA, but not with enough seats to demolish the supremacy of Ganesh Naik in the city. Though the SS is strongly placed in Digha, Chinchpada,  Airoli, Ghansoli, Koparkhairne, Sanpada, Agroli, Diwale and some parts of Nerul, the Ganesh Naik strongholds include Belapur, Nerul, Vashi, Turbhe, Sanpada, Koparkhairne, Airoli, Rabale and Digha. 

The MNS could open it’s account in the city in alliance with the BJP and on it’s own may not break ice. With the support of the Congress and NCP,  SS will emerge a strong opponent to their once alliance partner, the BJP. A united MVA minus rebels alone can challenge the might of Ganesh Naik’s hold over the city and arrest  the forward march of the BJP in Navi Mumbai under the leadership of Ganesh Naik, Manda Mhatre, Sanjeev Naik, Sandeep Naik and Ramchandra Gharat.