Mumbai: The term of 12 legislators nominated by the Government in the state council will expire in April. The state cabinet, chaired by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray will prescribe a list of 12 new faces to Senator Bhagat Singh Koshyari for nomination for a period of six years. The cabinet assembly slated for Wednesday has been rescheduled for Thursday.

The list of competitors from the ruling partners Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Congress is said to be quite long. Around 300 from NCP, 50 from Congress and 15 from Shiv Sena had evinced a desire for their nomination to the upper house from the Governor’s quota. As per the understanding among the three ruling partners, each will get 4 seats in the quota.

NCP aspirants on the list included former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Eknath Khadse, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana Founder Raju Shetti, Uttamrao Jankar, Shivajirao Garje, Aditi Nalawade, Anand Shinde, and Shriram Shete. Garje and Nalawade were recommended by NCP in December last year after two seats fell vacant. However, despite repeated correspondence, their nomination was not cleared by Raj Bhavan.

Some of the leading names doing the rounds in Shiv Sena included Thackeray’s close confidante Milind Narvekar, Former Minister Sachin Ahir, former legislator Sunil Shinde, Yuva Sena leader Rahul Kanal, Vijay Karanjikar, Bhausaheb Chaudhary, Nitin Bangude Patil, and Former Minister Arjun Khotkar.

The Maha Vikas Aghadi Government may recommend Bollywood actress Urmila Matondkar for her nomination from the Governor’s quota in the State Council. She had battled Lok Sabha races last year on Congress ticket from North Mumbai but misplaced to BJP chosen nominee Gopal Shetty. Recently Matondkar took on Kangana Ranaut after she compared Mumbai with Pakistan occupied Kashmir. Matondkar had left out Congress complaining about internal factionalism.

Also read:

As far as Congress is concerned, the list incorporates party spokesperson Sachin Sawant, Maharashtra Pradesh Youth Congress Chief, and Revenue Minister Balasaheb Thorat’s nephew Satyajit Tambe, former legislator Mohan Joshi and Former Minister Naseem Khan. The ruling partners were troubled around the time taken by the Governor for nominating new members. In any case, Koshyari recently clarified that he had not received the Government’s recommendations.