Mumbai: The state government on Thursday declared that the Mumbai Metropolitan Region that comprises Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, Thane, and the regions between Mira Road and Virar will have the lockdown extended till May 31. In all, Maharashtra has 36 regions of which 14 are in the red zone. These include:

  • Mumbai
  • Mumbai Suburban
  • Pune
  • Thane
  • Nashik
  • Palghar
  • Solapur
  • Yavatmal
  • Aurangabad,
  • Satara
  • Dhule
  • Akola
  • Jalgaon
Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray with NCP Chief Sharad Pawar, Ministers Jayant Patil, Anil Deshmukh and Aaditya Thackeray on the extension of lockdown upto May 31 and relaxation to be given in orange and green zones in the state.

There are 16 orange zone districts. These include:

  • Raigad
  • Ahmednagar
  • Amravati
  • Buldhana
  • Nandurbar
  • Kolhapur
  • Hingoli
  • Ratnagiri
  • Jalna
  • Nanded
  • Chandrapur
  • Parbhani
  • Sangli
  • Latur
  • Bandara
  • Beed

The 6 green districts include:

  • Osmanabad
  • Washim
  • Sindhudurg
  • Gondia
  • Gadchiroli
  • Wardha

In Mumbai, the city has 24 wards with 2,651 containment zones. These zones have been separated into blue, orange, red, and red+. The blue means that the containment zones are reasonable, the orange zones are those where there’s at slightest one COVID-19 patient; the red zone has 2-7 patients, whereas red+ has over seven patients. The BMC has expressed that 1,153 buildings within the containment zones are blue; 1,035 are orange; 373 are red and 90 are red+ containment zones.