The big battle of election is all set for phase one of the seven phase 2019. Over 14.2 crore voters will decide who occupies the Lok Sabha seats. The 91 seats are spread across 18 states and two Union territories. The states and Union territories are: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

Among 1,279 contestants, 53 contestants are sitting members of Parliament and 89 woman candidates are taking part in the first phase.  According to an analysis by ADR India, 27 per cent of the Congress candidates and 19 per cent of the BJP candidates fielded for the first phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha election have serious criminal charges registered against them.Main candidates contesting in Phase 1 of the 2019 Lok Sabha election are Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, VK Singh, Kiren Rijiju, former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat, Ajit Singh, Jayant Chaudhary, Chirag Paswan, former Bihar CM Jeetanram Manjhi, and Asaduddin Owaisi. The final vote count will be done on May 23 and seal the fate of Indian politics.