Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing-in as Maharashtra’s New Chief Minister today at 6:40 pm, as the Shiv Sena-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)-Congress organization together begun finishing power-sharing subtle elements. According to sources, Subhash Desai and Eknath Shinde sworn as ministers of Shivsena, Babasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut as Congress Ministers.

Nitin Raut
Eknath Shinde
Babasaheb Thorat
Subhash Desai

Maharashtra will have one Deputy Chief Minister from the NCP, and the Speaker’s post will go to the Congress, NCP pioneer Praful Patel declared after a six-hour-long assembly of the organization together, moreover known as Maha Vikas Aghadi, on Wednesday evening.

The name of the Deputy CM Jayant Patil is however yet to be finalised. Congress is still confounded to make decisions for the acceptance of the Cabinet. Indeed if NCP gets the Deputy Chief Minister’s post, no one else will swear instead of Jayant Patil or Chhagan Bhujbal can be sworn in as ministers. There’s a mist of disarray in the air about Ajit Pawar whether he’s getting to be reserved within the imminent cabinet choice from NCP leaders. The union, together with smaller parties and independents, staked claim to power after the 80-hour Devendra Fadnavis Government collapsed on Tuesday for the need of majority.

Maharashtra’s 43 ministers need to be divided between three parties and the proportion accepted to be in discussion with 15 ministers for the Sena, 15 for the NCP and 12 for the Congress. But smaller parties like Swabhimani Sangathana and Samajwadi Party too got to be accommodated.

Top Updates for You

  • NCP leader Ajit Pawar tells news agency ANI: “I am not taking oath today. Today six leaders will be taking oath from each party (Shiv Sena, NCP, Congress). The decision of Deputy Chief Minister is yet to be taken by the party.”
  • NCP leader Praful Pate says: “State Cabinet ministers will be announced in the coming days. Total six leaders, two from each party, will take oath today.”
  • Congress President Sonia Gandhi says the Maharashtra Governor behaved in an “unprecedented and reprehensible manner” by inviting the BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis and the NCP’s Ajit Pawar to take oath in a surprise event last week.
  • DMK President MK Stalin will attend the swearing-in ceremony of the new government of the state.
  • Security forces including Quick Response Teams, Riot Control Police, State Reserve Police Force, Local Armed Police and Bomb Detection and Disposal Squad will be deployed to prevent any untoward incident.
  • Security forces including Quick Response Teams, Riot Control Police, State Reserve Police Force, Local Armed Police and Bomb Detection and Disposal Squad will be conveyed to avoid any unfortunate occurrence.
  • People will not be permitted to carry any sacks, including those implied to keep laptops and water bottles.
  • Dog squads will moreover be on obligation to preserve a vigil at the sprawling ground, located in Dadar region. The Official says, “Police personnel in civil clothes will also be deployed.” Drones and CCTV cameras will moreover be utilized to screen the swarm.
  • Preparations are underway at Shivaji Park. Uddhav Thackeray will be sworn at 6:40 pm today at Shivaji Stop in Dadar where the party holds Dussehra rally each year. Sources say the Shiv Sena chief, who has never challenged an election will become a member of the Legislative Council in the bicameral Maharashtra assembly.
  • Congress’ Balasaheb Thorat, Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde and NCP’s Jayant Patil will address a joint press conference, ahead of swearing-in ceremony of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, according to news agency ANI.

Posters saying ‘Thackeray Sarkar‘ seen in Mumbai ahead of Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing-in ceremony at Shivaji Park.

At least 2,000 police staff will protect the Shivaji Stop in Mumbai as portion of the elaborate security courses of action being made for the swearing-in ceremony of Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray, a police official says.  Senior NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal says he will take oath as minister today in the new Maharashtra government of the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance.

“NCP chief Sharad Pawar has chosen two MLAs from the party to take oath as ministers and I am one of them. I will take oath as minister today evening.